Young Writer’s Groups, School Visits, and The Rainbow Pants

owl

You may ask why did I choose an owl for this post? Well two reasons:

One I love owls they are so cute, and two it was the school mascot at the school I recently attended.

I was lucky enough this past Monday to visit an amazing school in Maine. The Carrie Ricker school located in central Maine.  It has students from 3rd through 5th grade, who are filled with the awe of writing. Ten authors in all were invited to participate in the “Meet an author day” sponsored by their Oak Hill Young Writer’s club. I was honored to be one of those ten.  I would recommend anyone who is a school librarian, PTO president, parent and/or teacher if you can organize one of these days at your school you should!!!

The Oak Hill Young Writer’s club is a non-profit run by volunteers to instill the love of writing to young people. From what I saw they do a super job inspiring and encouraging. The students asked us many questions from: “where do you get your ideas from?” to “How long does it take you to write a story”.  Then after school, students stayed to have us help in their writing. It was great to hear all of their amazing ideas. I was honored to read The Rainbow Pants to them, share the stage with many talented authors, and meet with some budding writers.

As my calendar fills up with school visits, book signings, and readings I am still humbled to all who continue to support The Rainbow Pants and am grateful to all of you.

Thank you.

Leave a Reply

